Author Topic: Any Jeff Yeager fans on here?  (Read 8414 times)

unplugged

• Stubble
Any Jeff Yeager fans on here?
« on: February 21, 2013, 04:33:56 AM »
Just wondering if I'm the only Jeff Yeager fan on here. I think the only way to follow him is through his books though. He works for AARP now so I doubt he would hang out here with us. I don't own many books as a part time minimalist but I love his books so much that I make an exception for them.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Any Jeff Yeager fans on here?
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2013, 06:57:44 AM »
Never read any of his stuff, but I've heard good things.

For those unfamiliar with his work, he wrote The Cheapskate Next Door, How to Retire the Cheapskate way, etc. etc.

He posted on the e-r.org forums a few times in the last week, seems pretty down-to-earth.

http://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f28/book-review-how-to-retire-the-cheapskate-way-jeff-yeager-65026.html
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Nords

• Magnum Stache
    • Military Retirement & Financial Independence blog
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2013, 09:08:06 AM »
I enjoyed Jeff's first book and his related blog posts, but I haven't made the time for his other books.

I think he makes a lot of sense with his advice to ignore the $3 latté and focus on the big decisions like the house and your transportation.

He works for AARP now ...
Ouch!  Coming out of retirement to work for those guys?!?  I sure hope he's far away from their direct-mail department...

Welmoed

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2013, 01:14:55 PM »