Author Topic: Roth vonversion question: want to be FI in 10 years  (Read 1785 times)

shortduck

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Roth vonversion question: want to be FI in 10 years
« on: December 20, 2019, 01:42:38 PM »
Hello

I have question and can`t find an answer for it.

Suppose I plan to to be FI in year 2030 [in next 10 years]. And majority of my funds are in either 401k and roth-ira, because I wanted to get maximum tax benefits. How do I access those funds in year 2031 ?

From what I have read, the only way is to do a roth conversion, however I have to start in year 2025 to have the funds in year 2031. But I will be still working in year 2025, so the conversion will be included with my salary and will be taxed.

Please let me your thought about it. Is there a better way to avoid those taxes ?

Thanks

newloginuser

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Roth vonversion question: want to be FI in 10 years
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 01:53:32 PM »
I'm not an expert on this but a few initial thoughts:

You can withdraw your Roth IRA contributions penalty free after 5 years, not a lot of money but its something.

Do you not have a brokerage account? I could be wrong, but I think most people around here (or at least the high wage earners) also have savings they have in a brokerage account or they keep enough in cash or low risk bonds to get through the roth conversion period.

If your expenses are really low, you could always just do side hustle work to get by while doing your conversions.

ixtap

• Magnum Stache
    • Our Sea Story
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2019, 01:57:06 PM »
You can also withdraw your Roth contributions at any time. So those will offset some of the time.

Do you have access to a megbackdoor Roth in your 401k? That would allow you to increase your Roth contributions now so that they can cover more time in retirement.

You say 'the majority,' so you must have some funds in taxable. How long will those cover?

shortduck

• 5 O'Clock Shadow