Author Topic: Another Should i buy thread! Yaaaaaaaa!  (Read 4618 times)

camerondawson51

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Another Should i buy thread! Yaaaaaaaa!
« on: September 08, 2016, 08:27:25 AM »
Greetings everyone!

I am a long time lurker on this forum and love the advice provided here, I am looking to buy a 2 bedroom Condo in Downtown Toronto and rent out a room/live in the other. I know this topic has been beaten to death but I would appreciate it if you could humor me and take a look over my story.

Current situation:
I am a 28 year old accountant who recently moved from Winnipeg to Toronto in March of this year.
I have never been super open about my sexuality but I am a gay man, it was very hard for me living in Winnipeg I felt very depressed, alone, and isolated. My family has always been amazing but dating was extremely difficult and the LGBT community was limited. Since moving to Toronto my life has improved 10 fold, there is an amazing community here and I can’t see myself living anywhere else.

With that in mind, I am currently renting but have started looking more closely at potentially buying since I see myself living here for the next 10 + years.

Gross Salary: $75 000 per year
Bonus: 10% of Salary ($7500), this fluctuates based on the performance of the company
Defined Contribution: 6% match
Free GoodLife gym membership
Net: With our crazy Canadian deductions my net pay per month is $ 4200, Bonus is paid yearly in May

Expenses (per month)
Rent: 800$
Utilities/laundromat: 100$
Phone: $60
Groceries: $250
Sport league $50
Eating out/Entertainment: $350
Cloths/misc.: 50$
Travel 250$
Total: $1910
Savings: $2290 (55%)

Assets:
RRSP $50 000
TFSA $55 000
Cash $35 000 (recently sold my car so I have more cash than usual)
Total: $140 000

Allocations RRSP/TFSA are invested 100% in EFT’S and Canadian divined stocks, Cash is sitting in a high interest savings accounts

Liabilities:

None