Author Topic: Paying off the Honda Fit  (Read 5179 times)

privatevoid

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Paying off the Honda Fit
« on: June 19, 2017, 10:25:33 AM »
Hi, longtime reader, now starting to make some changes in my own life, and I'd love some feedback. :) Story below.

So I graduated from college in 2014 and was able to get a job in the software industry. To make a long story short I found myself in pretty immediate want of a car, I was living with my parents and my new job was a commute away. I had very little saved up (a couple grand) and didn't feel confident I'd be able to score a safe and reliable vehicle in the used car market with it (wrong, although, having $4-5k more kicking around would have really helped.) So instead of spending all of my money on a car, I did the unthinkable and spent more than all of my money on a car.

I'm proud that at least the bad decision I made was pretty smart; with some help from a friend, I scored a brand new 2015 Honda Fit LX for about $16k financed. The payments ended up being about $252/mo.

That was no problem while I was living with my parents and I was easily able to sock away 50% of my income or more while paying down the car. To make another long story short, I had to move out.

Now I'm paying kind of a lot in rent, still commuting (but not as far) and still paying down the car. I'm feeling the various invisible costs that come with it; the depreciation, the insurance, the surprisingly expensive maintenance. I'm breaking even but having a hard time putting away anything new in savings.

Rereading through the MMM archives, I got inspired. I now have about $10k saved up in cash and various investments. I'm considering my options.

1) Plug along steadily until it's paid off.

2) Pay it off ASAP. There's about $8100 left on the car. I could empty my savings and pay it off pretty quickly, and become the sole owner of my 2015 Honda Fit.

3) Sell the thing and buy a reasonable car.