Author Topic: An Idea from a friend - is it a good idea?  (Read 8695 times)

lilstubbletgvp

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
An Idea from a friend - is it a good idea?
« on: January 14, 2015, 10:23:55 AM »
A friend of mine at work recently proposed the idea to me of he will pay me 25$ a week to bring him lunch. I bring my lunch every day to work and I am a pretty decent cook and he doesnt cook at all so he suggested this course of action. I told him i would think about it. I usually have enough leftovers for myself and my wife, sometimes we have extra. Do you think the 25$ a week would cover the extra cost of the food to feed him as well?

I'm a red panda

• Walrus Stache
Re: An Idea from a friend - is it a good idea?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2015, 10:30:33 AM »
I think it depends what he expects as lunch.  Do you need to provide an entree, side dish and dessert with a drink?  What size portion does he expect?   Will he eat repetitive meals?

I think you need more information before you can decide if it is worth it; but if he just wanted a portion of my leftovers, I'd say it was probably worth it.  But if he also wanted me to bring him an apple and a cookie, not so much.

Phil_Moore

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2015, 10:35:00 AM »
Well if it's 5 meals a week can you do his portion for less than $5 per meal? I don't know how fancy you are getting with your meals, but that sounds eminently doable if you are making the meals anyway.

If it's a good friend though I would probably offer to teach him how to cook a few things, I mean seriously any muppet (i.e. me) can cook chilli or stir-fry or similar. Being able to reasonably feed yourself is a life skill worth having I would have thought.

Numbers Man

« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2015, 10:36:51 AM »