Author Topic: American Funds Simple IRA Employer Match  (Read 7650 times)

vetmedbf

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
American Funds Simple IRA Employer Match
« on: February 17, 2014, 10:33:50 PM »
I'm a newly employed grad, so just starting out and never dealt with investing/retirement funding before. My employer does its company Simple IRA match through American funds, 1 to 1 up to 3%. There seem to be a ton of options, but I'm not sure what I should be picking. From reading, American Funds isn't the ideal investor because of its fees, but unfortunately that's what I'm stuck with.

I would post information on the different funds, but I'm not sure what's the important, pertinent information for making a good decision. So I guess if we could start off with what I should be looking at, and then I'll post the necessary info to get help on what my choice should be. One other thing I should mention is that I'll probably be changing jobs, ie probably different investment company, in 2-3 years if that makes any difference on the selection.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Most if not all of the available choices are here: https://americanfunds.com/funds/returns/alphabetically.html

I can try to create a condensed table if I knew what I should include for easier reading.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2014, 10:42:57 PM by vetmedbf »

Cwadda

• Handlebar Stache
Re: American Funds Simple IRA Employer Match
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2014, 01:21:35 AM »
I am a college student and I have a Roth IRA in American Funds. I can tell you it's done really well for me since I started it 1.5 years ago. I have Class A shares. Last statement it had 12% returns for 2013 and I think 10% overall. Yeah I had to pay fees for stock buy-ins and maintenance, but it's already made all that money back and more (pays for my student loan interest payments!) It's not the ideal company but it's not bad either. I'm pretty sure it's just behind The Vanguard.

chasesfish

• Magnum Stache