Author Topic: Am I stifling my career growth leaving my current employer?  (Read 3083 times)

Bearblastbeats

Am I stifling my career growth leaving my current employer?
« on: March 15, 2019, 09:02:13 AM »
Today is my last day at my current employer. I am a project manager for an A&E firm in the telecom industry making a salary of $72,800. The company recently hired a new PM who makes just under $100k. He's 7 years older than me and also new to telecom. I wonder why he gets ~$20k more than I do? Is it his age, or that he has 4 children? He does have a degree in Construction Management and a PMP cert, which I have neither. I only have an associates in Arch and have worked my way up to PM within the past 8 years out of school. I do understand he has more credentials than I do, but I am wondering if I will ever make more than the $73k I make now? I could go back to school and get the PMP cert but I'm not interested in more schooling.

Anyway, I start my new job on Monday for a Landscape Architecture Design/Build firm making a salary of $73,000. The new company is a small firm, I'll be working directly under the principle, so I feel that it will be a good fit. The work is more interesting, and if the company grows I will be in a prominent position with seniority status. However, he told me they are already making a stretch paying me the new salary so I am wondering if I am essentially shooting myself in the foot?

I will still be gaining PM experience, so if all else fails, I can find another job and ask for more.

TheHardenedInvestor

• Stubble
Am I stifling my career growth leaving my current employer?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2019, 09:18:31 AM »