Author Topic: Am I Insane?  (Read 7390 times)

kkbmustang

• Handlebar Stache
Am I Insane?
« on: August 14, 2012, 09:21:36 PM »
I am new to the MMM family and have spent the last week reading all of the MMM posts and tons of the forum posts and I just had a nut job idea, which makes me think I might be onto something. I want to get your input before I present it to my husband. I'm 38, hubby is 40 and my son is 9 and daughter is 7. I am getting ready to launch a business that will allow me to work from him while the kids are at school. We live in the heart of Dallas, a short drive from SMU (a glut of students needing reasonable living accommodations).

Our house is 2700 square feet, 4 bedrooms, 3 baths.  One bed/bath combo is on the opposite end of the house from the other bedrooms (where my husband, kids and I sleep). A few steps away from the 4th bedroom is what was a small dining room that we converted into an office for me. It has two french doors, gorgeous windows and a sliding door to the kitchen. The 4th bedroom is my husband's current office with a huge closet. The washer/dryer are in the garage.

Am I nuts to consider turning these two rooms into rental rooms for undergrad or grad students? They would each get their own bedroom (one would have to use an armoire instead of a built in closet we would provide) and share a bathroom. They would have access to a washer and dryer. It is about a 10 minute commute to campus. There is also a community college closeby. I would he home with the kids 24/7 and work from home, so fewer securities issues. My office and my husband's office could easily be relocated elsewhere in the house without too much sacrifice. Thoughts?

Thanks.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
Re: Am I Insane?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 09:31:40 PM »