Author Topic: Am I Figuring Savings Rate Correctly?  (Read 5354 times)

Bartstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Am I Figuring Savings Rate Correctly?
« on: January 09, 2014, 09:53:33 AM »
Hi all,

I've been sitting quietly soaking in MMM for a few months trying to get things figured out but I have some questions on my savings rate.  I figured now would be a good time to get it ironed out as the 2013 numbers are right at my fingertips.   

My wife and my gross income was 169k.  Less 36k for taxes and insurance leaving a net of 133k.

Our savings looked like:

24k for 401k contributions (upped contribution % during the year to get closer to max for 2014)
11k for Roth IRAs
20k to index fund
26k mortgage (12 x $1300 payments + 10k additional principal payment.)*
= 81k towards savings

so 81k/133k = 61% savings rate

* Figuring how the mortgage counts is where I think I may be getting confused.  The $1300 monthly mortgage payment is just P&I, no taxes or insurance.  The actual due is $700 a month and we always pay an extra $600.  We don't escrow the insurance or taxes.

Am I calculating this correctly?

Thanks,
Bart

Thegoblinchief

Re: Am I Figuring Savings Rate Correctly?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2014, 09:59:39 AM »
You shouldn't count the interest paid.

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2014, 10:02:09 AM »
and you should count employer contributions to the 401k.

grantmeaname

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
  • Cast me away from yesterday's things
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2014, 10:02:57 AM »
It depends what you want to calculate it for. If you want it as a percentage of take home pay you're on the right track, but if you want it as a percentage of net pay I wouldn't take insurance out of the denominator - it's an expense, after all.

Bartstache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2014, 10:24:41 AM »
Thanks for the replies.  I'll take off the interest and include employer contributions to the 401k.