Author Topic: Am I crazy to leverage my professional student LOC?  (Read 2778 times)

crusher2015

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Am I crazy to leverage my professional student LOC?
« on: May 14, 2015, 05:32:17 PM »
As a Canadian medical student I had access to a 200K LOC at prime that I've hardly touched and have actually been paying back a little now that I'm in residency (balance ~15 000).  I've slowed down lately because I'm interested in saving for a home downpayment outside of TFSA/RRSP plans. There's no other debt. I have an almost fully funded TFSAs with balance of 41K, mostly in CPP model ETFs and a little cash for emergencies. I have 4500 of remaining contribution room for 2015. I've recently been hooked on MMM and would like to stay on top of FI planning mainly for the purpose of maxing my career flexibility (part time when i have future-kids in 5-7yr, international work in 10-15 yr, etc).

What I'd like to do is borrow a lil more from the LOC to fully fund the TFSA (4500 this year, 10k next year), and have all in investments. Am I crazy for thinking of leveraging this way? I'm about 1.5 years away from practice with estimated gross income 350K once I'm working (net will be way less, especially with clinic set-up costs). I plan to max my RRSP once my tax bracket increases in practice.