Author Topic: Almost to FI but Anxiety overwhelming - OK to pursue passion now?  (Read 6892 times)

freeatlast

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I love this forum and value so much the information found here.  I wanted to get the thoughts of my fellow mustachians.

I think I am close to FI.

mortgage on my residence ($240k) shared with husband so I owe $1000 per month.
rental income clears $2000 per month (houses worth $440k together - owned free and clear)
$350k in 401(k)
$30k savings outside 401(k) and houses
Spousal support $2000 a month that ends in three years
Current expenses apprx $3500 including mortgage (HCOL area - can't move due to shared custody - daughter going to college in three years - we have some savings reserved for that)

I will need to earn income in three years because of the support ending and the mortgage but I can get by for 3 years with no job.  My current job pays well (low 100's). I work in the legal field and have a JD.

The problem is that my I am prone to anxiety and my job is highly stressful. I am diagnosed with OCD and anxiety and I have recently started getting frozen with anxiety at work. I get heart palpitations on Sunday nights due to returning to my job on Monday. My performance has gone way down because I am scared to open emails and take calls. I have been working this job and holding on for years just for the money and the stress has grown worse. I started seeing a therapist to treat the anxiety, but I don't want to have to go on medication just to go to work, so I have turned that down so far. I don't think I am a complainypants - anxiety and depression run deep in my family and I have been a hard worker in a tough field for over 20 years.

My dream job is to repair and make jewelry. I have taken short classes and I am good at it. My plan would be to train and hopefully be able to make money in jewelry repair/design by the time my support runs out. I think would need to earn about $36,000 a year.