Author Topic: Advice/Assurance on Future Path  (Read 5355 times)

MasterStache

• Magnum Stache
Advice/Assurance on Future Path
« on: August 28, 2014, 12:55:47 PM »
Long time reader first time poster. Just looking for a little advice or reassurance for our future plans and current situation.

Some background. My wife and I are both 38. We have 2 kids (4 and 10). I am an engineer and she is an MRI Tech at a local hospital. We both work full time. I'll skip all the boring historical details.

Combined Income: 120K
Retirement: 401k - $110,000, 403b - $55,000, Roth IRA - $20,000
Mortgage: $1460/mo.
Debt: $198,000 mortgage, $1,000 CC, $1500 student loan
Savings: $2K

I recently paid off over 7K in student loan debt and paid off a low interest loan incurred when we purchased a solar array. We have two cars paid for and a lot of life left. Obviously my next step is continuing to pay off the small debt we have left.

We have a beautiful house that we bought in a down market in which we have sunk a lot of money into. As stated above, we have a large solar array that was installed by myself. It saves about $1000 on energy every year. I installed a 10 zone irrigation system and completely renovated the yard and landscape. We've been told by many, many folks including landscapers that we have the nicest yard in our large town. The grass has become sort of a hobby for me. We also have a large 22,500 gallon pool in the backyard surrounded by beautiful landscaping that I put in myself.  We had a new concrete driveway put in last year. I renovated my daughters room over the winter. So much has been done to our house. I am confident we could get 250K out of it or more.