Author Topic: Advice? Student Loans/Credit Card Debt - $26K/yr Income  (Read 2113 times)

IGotsMilk

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice? Student Loans/Credit Card Debt - $26K/yr Income
« on: February 01, 2017, 06:07:11 AM »
Hello everyone, I'm new to the MMM community and have been trying to get my finances together as of late and am open to any advice you can give so thank you in advance!

Background on my situation
 -I am in the military and make roughly $26K a year (4 years in)
 -Currently have $42K in private student loan debt w/ 6% interest
   -Paying $300 a month (mostly interest)
 -$24K in federal student loan debt w/ 6% interest
   -Paying $180 a month
 -$7,500 in credit card debt between two cards
   -Paying roughly $200-$250 a month combined
 -No missed payments on anything (thankfully haha)

Due to being in the military, after 10 years served, my federal student loans are forgiven so I have been paying the minimum for those. My private student loans are another story, obviously. I have been doing much better paying off my credit card debt in the last 6 months or so with a few exceptions for unexpected things I had to pay for. I also invest 10% of my salary per month in a retirement plan.

I know it's not a lot of information and I would be happy to share more. Just seeing what advice or knowledge I can gain from the forums. Like I said any help or recommendations would be very much appreciated. Thanks again!
« Last Edit: February 01, 2017, 06:20:57 AM by IGotsMilk »

marielle

• Pencil Stache
Re: Advice? Student Loans/Credit Card Debt - $26K/yr Income
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2017, 06:44:27 AM »
It might be easier to give suggestions if you did a full case study:

http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/case-studies/how-to-write-a-'case-study'-topic/

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2017, 07:02:55 AM »
Agree that a full case study is necessary for the best feedback.