Author Topic: Advice requested  (Read 3865 times)

LeCrowe

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice requested
« on: October 24, 2013, 07:36:08 PM »
Hello!

I am a sophomore at a university in NW Ohio. Today I was talking with my cousin about my college debt. So far I have taken out $3500 in loans, however I am not going to take out anymore the next two years and I currently have enough money to pay them off, which is what I was planning to do, but she suggested something else. She said that I should put $3500 into a CD until after I graduate. My loans are subsidized, so I don't gain any interest until 6 months after I graduate. Is the CD idea a good one, or what other suggestions do you guys have?

Thanks!

randymarsh

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Advice requested
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2013, 10:24:44 PM »
I wouldn't do the CD because rates are so low. I would do a Roth IRA, assuming you have earned income during the year.

imustachemystash

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2013, 10:46:26 PM »
If you need the money in 2.5 years to pay off your loan, I would do a CD because it is less volatile than the index funds in a Roth IRA.  Those are for longer term investing. 

Stache In Training

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2013, 10:54:20 PM »
I agree with investing that money somehow until the 6 months after graduation, when your first bill comes and then pay it off.  It's the only loans ever with a delayed interest gain, so you might as well take advantage of it.