Author Topic: Advice - Planning For A MegaRoth In 2016 To "Catch-Up"  (Read 3112 times)

Ramza Beoulve

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice - Planning For A MegaRoth In 2016 To "Catch-Up"
« on: August 31, 2015, 06:42:59 AM »
I graduated in 2012 but I did not access to a 401k until the start of 2015. For this year, I am able to max out my 401k and Roth IRA. Theoretically, I would be behind my classmates in retirement accounts,

My employer allows for after-tax 401k contributions and for 4 in-service distributions each year. After-tax contributions are placed in a stable value fund. I am targeting 2016 because I should be done with my student loan payments at the end of this year. At that point, I will be debt free (no car payment or mortgage). 2016 is 50/50 that it would be my last year of eligibility to make after-tax contributions because my plan excludes "highly compensated employees" (Defined this year as employees making more than >115k, likely be at >120k for 2016),

Expected Numbers on Jan 1st, 2016
Bi-weekly take-home pay after maxing 401k, Roth and insurance: ~$2200
Monthly expenses: $1400
Emergency fund: Yes
Tax-deferred accounts: 19k
Tax-exempt accounts: 18k

1) I know a HSA is likely a better vehicle than the Mega Backdoor Roth. The only problem is finding an HSA provider with low fees and good investment options. I would be age 29, no major health conditions, no medications. Do I prioritize the HSA regardless because of its multiple tax advantages?

2) Realistically, how low can I set to liquid savings versus dumping the rest to the after-tax contributions? I would have approximately 33,000 in liquid savings, including my E-fund, at the start of 2016. I don't pay to buy for 2-3 more years and median housing prices in my area are about 180k.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2015, 06:45:00 AM by Ramza Beoulve »

dunhamjr

• Stubble
  • mustachian in training est. July 14
Re: Advice - Planning For A MegaRoth In 2016 To "Catch-Up"
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2015, 09:47:07 AM »