Author Topic: Advice on this NE Ohio home...  (Read 4721 times)

Holyoak

• Bristles
Advice on this NE Ohio home...
« on: December 14, 2014, 06:05:18 PM »
http://www.realtor.com/realestateandhomes-detail/3907-State-Route-46-S_Jefferson_OH_44047_M40339-15026?source=web#modal_PhotoGallery

Google map aerial view: https://goo.gl/maps/U55Zr

Yep, asking $49,900, 867 sf, 2BR/1 bath, 2 car over-sized garage...

It's about 32 miles away, and I wonder if it's even worth a look?  I love the rural location (3 acres), basement, oversize garage, low taxes ($1200/yr), small overall sf, and of course writing a check with no mortgage and no more rent!...  No pics of the bathroom, or basement, so I bet they are pretty rough.  Barn in the back looks pretty rickety, and it has oil heat, not many electrical outlets in the kitchen, no exhaust hood, and of course no A/C. 

I admit, I'm no pro about fixing up places, so I'm curious for you folks who know fixing up, with what you see for the $$$, what does your gut say, asking price crazy?  I know, not much to go on, but I appreciate your thoughts with what I have provided.  Thank you.

iris lily

• Walrus Stache
Re: Advice on this NE Ohio home...
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2014, 06:45:33 PM »
There are deals like this all over our great US of A. If you don't have to earn an income, then you can live anywhere. OP I don't know what this means for you as far as earning income, are you free of that requirement?

For Mustachean living I like the size (small) and the newness of it--it's not an old Victorian pile. At this age I would expect systems to be ok although electrical might need revamped. If the HVA system is original, that is way old and would be an large expense to replace it. The double garage is nice and big and sturdy looking. That old barn would require maintenance and it looks fragile..