Author Topic: Advice on starting a service-based business?  (Read 3791 times)

maryofdoom

• Stubble
  • Jeopardy! loser since 2010
Advice on starting a service-based business?
« on: June 09, 2015, 08:42:27 AM »
Hi friends,

I haven't been here in a long while. I had a super demanding job; then I had a brain hemorrhage; then I had brain surgery to fix it; then I got fired from my demanding job because I refused to spam people; then I had a couple of seizures and now I can't drive until the end of September.

I'm doing better now, though I'm on medication to prevent more seizures (Keppra) that occasionally just wipes me out for a day. I am also going to see a neurologist in about a month to determine a future course of treatment. My lesson to you: don't ignore a bad headache, and brain surgery is expensive.

Anyway, these events have made me really think seriously about opening up my own business. I've been side-hustling academic editing services for the past twelve years and have a pretty extensive roster of clients. I'm working on a book project right now that pays $75/hr, which will give me a big chunk of startup cash. I have personal and professional connections to at least eight universities, including Harvard.

Editing is something that I can do from home, and if I'm working only for myself, then if I'm having a "bad brain day," I can take the day mostly off with fewer consequences, or spend it doing something that doesn't need as much brainpower. And if I have more seizures in the future (which result in loss of driving privileges for six months in each case), then I'll be in the same situation that I am right now (where not being able to drive doesn't actually affect my ability to edit papers).