Author Topic: Advice on parents - hopeless from my view  (Read 7271 times)

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
Advice on parents - hopeless from my view
« on: December 12, 2014, 11:03:24 AM »
I'm recently converted, and am starting to implement changes in my life. I'm seriously worried about my parents, and wondered if anyone had any suggestions to help. I can't see much long term hope, so am hoping someone can!

Facts:
Me - 29, hair on fire, negative net worth, student loans/car loan/cc debt. I'm an accountant. I'm new to MMM, so be kind.
Sister - 26, even worse, and with pitiful income prospects once she actually earns an income.

Parents:
Dad is 62, working FT, earns I think about $50k per year.
Mom is 58, self employed, earns about $20k per year

Assets/liabilities:
Duplex house, they live in half, rent out half. Occupancy is difficult to keep due to local market. They need the rent to make mortgage payments without stress. The house is underwater, ARM, currently good rate, with a cap on the annual increase. It's actually gone down.
Student loans - for both myself and sister. I plan to pay off my share in the future (see above about my hair on fire). Sister will probably never make much money, but don't know her plans.
Credit cards, medical bills (mom had cancer a few years ago, but doing ok).
1 car, 2013 Chevy eco cruize. Dad takes the bus to work, mom limits driving due to gas costs. Special thing on the loan where if anything happens to dad's job, the loan is wiped out and they'd own it free and clear.
401k - dad has a few scattered about which I will consolidate and deal with somehow (advice on investments?), I'd be surprised if he has $100k though
Maybe a few thousand in savings.

In general, they're pretty frugal for non-MMM lifestyle, with some exceptions. Both don't like to cook much, so they go out 1-2 times per week, but to the local low cost places. Both smoke. They don't buy things much. 3 cats.