Author Topic: Advice on Major Career Change  (Read 2228 times)

eljefe-speaks

• Bristles
Advice on Major Career Change
« on: July 31, 2020, 07:12:41 AM »
I hate my sit-down, paperwork job. I have hated my job for a very long time. COVID has made my job even worse in many ways. I am 98% sure that my job (and not just the state of our world right now) that is causing my situational but ongoing depression.

So I am extremely tempted to go to trade school and get my A&P Mechanic license. If you're not familiar, this is an FAA-issued license which means you can turn a wrench on airplanes. I toured a school yesterday and it lifted my soul. This is something I would really like to do. I would take a lot of pride in having extensive mechanical knowledge and ability. However, it is expensive. I would need to get a part-time job and cut my expenses to the bone for 21 months. Also, even after I have a few years experience as a mechanic, it would be a hefty pay cut compared to what I am currently making. But my current job is really, really working me over, mentally. Badly.

Wondering if any mustachians have insight into the life of an A&P mechanic. Am I romanticizing this? I am trying to be realistic as possible. I am envisioning starting my career on the 3rd shift with low pay and hard work, paying my dues for a while.

bbqbonelesswing

• Bristles
Re: Advice on Major Career Change
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2020, 07:38:44 AM »
How do you know you would enjoy being a mechanic?

Pigeon

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2020, 07:39:45 AM »
I'm not a mechanic of any sort and am not knowledgeable about the airline industry.