Author Topic: advice on how to approach going back to school  (Read 3121 times)

southernhippie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
advice on how to approach going back to school
« on: December 02, 2015, 06:40:24 AM »
I am a registered nurse and I am hoping to be going to nurse anesthesia school in the next year.  I am doing this because I aspire to be in that field and I will also go from a salary of $50,000 a year to around $120,000 starting out.  This will help speed me along to FI by my mid 30s which is my goal( I am 27 by the way).  What i am asking is how should I financially prepare for school because I will not be able to work at all and my wife is part-time, her salary around 38,000?  We also have a 17 month old child as well.  School loans will put me back 30-60 grand depending on where i get accepted.  Here is my financial layout

Debts

Mortgage-$109,000 left ( I still have PMI which I am trying to pay of the principal as fast as I can do get rid of)

Assets

Bank account checking etc- 11,000

combined IRAs from spouse and myself -10000

my 401k- 25,000 (current 12% contribution with a 6% match from employer)

Vanguard investments- 10,000

So my plan right now is to pay mortgage principal to get rid of PMI.  Then save/invest everything else.  I don't see how I can do school without student loans, but I do plan to pay those off first when I get out of school.

rubybeth

• Handlebar Stache
Re: advice on how to approach going back to school
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2015, 06:58:56 AM »
A few thoughts:

1) Try to get accepted at the cheapest school. $30k vs. $60k is huge. If you only have to pay $30k for this, that's ideal.