Author Topic: Advice on buying a used car? Looking for a Prius Two Eco  (Read 4067 times)

Merdox

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice on buying a used car? Looking for a Prius Two Eco
« on: November 28, 2017, 11:47:54 AM »
Hi all,

So I have about 3 weeks to buy a new (old) car because that's when my current lease is up. Yes, I agree, leasing is the worst, but I got locked into that without my consent -- long story, irrelevant here.

I have my heart set on a used Prius Two Eco, which, based on my research, would be a very sensible acquisition. The problem is I'm in New York but the only ones I see under 20k are as far away as Florida, Georgia, California. The oldest models I can find are 2016 because it's a newer edition.

Any and all advice would be very welcome. I'm new to the used car scene. Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2017, 11:49:41 AM by Merdox »

ketchup

• Magnum Stache
Re: Advice on buying a used car? Looking for a Prius Two Eco
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2017, 11:58:44 AM »
My first advice would be to open up your search to other similar models/trims, so that you can go back a little further than 2016.  That's pretty limiting.

lbmustache

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2017, 12:34:48 PM »
My first advice would be to open up your search to other similar models/trims, so that you can go back a little further than 2016.  That's pretty limiting.

I agree. Is there a specific reason you want the brand new model of Prius, in this specific trim? The prior generation (2009-2015) will be under $20k, easy.

Merdox

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2017, 02:19:43 PM »
Yeah the Eco specifically is what all the endorsements I've received are for. It was a Motor Trend Car of the Year contender and someone I know who owns 4 different Priuses would not shut up about how great the Eco is specifically.