Author Topic: Advice on buying a new (to me) car  (Read 1273 times)

Gakad

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice on buying a new (to me) car
« on: April 05, 2019, 09:33:30 PM »
I'm 23yo and very new to this mustachian lifestyle. I've always saved about 50% of my earnings since I graduated, but only recently learned about tuning my lifestyle to save even more. I'm looking at my expenses and see that my biggest fault is commuting in a 2009 Outback. The car gets 20-27mpg (more like 30mpg average with my best driving) but I drive probably 50 miles round-trip. This is because in my state (MI) all of the work is in the really sketchy areas (near Detroit), so i decided to live farther away.

In the future I plan on moving out of state to a good city where I can bike to work, but for the time being I'm considering purchasing a used prius to save some money. After seeing MMM's recommended cars which included the 2010 Prius, I did some research and found that the 2010 - 2014 prii's are riddled with oil consumption issues. So i'm back at stage one.
What would Mustachians such as yourselves recommend in my situation?

Dave1442397

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Advice on buying a new (to me) car
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2019, 09:05:03 AM »
I'd just keep the Outback. It's ten years old, so why not just drive it into the ground?

ApacheStache

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2019, 11:15:55 AM »
Keep the outback. You're going to waste a lot of money on registration fees and you're going to see an increase in your insurance and renewing tabs if you try to trade up to the Prius. Plus, if when you're biking to work in the future, you won't need to worry about saving money on a car.

rubybeth

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2019, 12:39:32 PM »