Author Topic: Advice from Engineers --- Master's Degree Worth It?  (Read 5520 times)

TheMightyAtom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice from Engineers --- Master's Degree Worth It?
« on: September 14, 2018, 02:49:50 PM »
Hi Mustachians! I need some advice from those of you who are/were engineers.

(Sorry if this is a redundant post -- I couldn't find something similar in my searches through this forum).

A little bit of background:

I'm an early-career electrical engineer with no debt and a good savings rate. I'm in my mid-20s now, single, with a decent amount of free time on my hands. I've been trying to decide if getting my master's degree is a worthwhile investment. It's going to take me 3+ years to accomplish, although my company would be footing the bill. I would be close to 30 by the time I finished the degree.

I have no ambitions of climbing the corporate ladder higher than a few rungs, and I'm planning on becoming FI sometime in my late 30s or early 40s. I'm not even sure I'm going to want to work in engineering beyond that point --- as you all know, becoming FI tends to open up a person's daily activities quite a bit. I might end up doing something else.

Given all of this information, does getting my master's degree make sense? I know it's possible to be a successful engineer without a master's --- am I gaining that much in terms of salary/job security in exchange for all of the free time I'm losing? Right now, I'm thinking that the many hours of my life I would lose by doing the degree could be spent building up side businesses or developing other methods of passive income which would be much more valuable in the long run. Am I wrong about that?

Did any of you end up doing your master's degrees only to find out that it wasn't really worth the time and money spent?

Thanks for any input.

FireHiker

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Advice from Engineers --- Master's Degree Worth It?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2018, 04:04:50 PM »