Author Topic: Advice for unexpected cash flow  (Read 4909 times)

cosmie

• Stubble
Advice for unexpected cash flow
« on: May 15, 2012, 04:53:09 PM »
Many of you guys are older, have stable careers that make copious (or at least predictable) amounts of money, and have regular investment vehicles.

I'm none of that. I'm a self-supportive 20-year-old college student with a fiance and a 6-month-old daughter, have worked in 5 different student positions in 4 different departments at my university within the last 2 years, with pay rates ranging from $7.50/hr to $20/hr. During semesters I'm restricted by university policy to only 30 hours per week, during breaks and holidays I can work a full 40 hours. The university shuts down for every federal holiday and, while real employees get holiday pay, student employees do not. This means that my monthly income fluctuates significantly through the year. For the past year my income has stabilized at $10/hr and I've structured my life to fit within that budget. I've recently engineered my way into a position with a payrate of $20/hr, and it's guaranteed for at least the next year, most likely until I finish my degree (at which time I may be hired on as a full time employee (where I could get my Master's for free), I might stay for my Master's and get the ripoff of a stipend they pay graduate assistants, or I may go into industry at about ~$60,000 starting salary - ~$90,000 starting with a Masters).

Normally, any excess income I just leave in my checking account, as it'll equalize out on a month with deficit income. However, with my recent raise of an unexpected $10/hr, I'm not sure where to put or what to do with this money. I don't want to sack it away into an untouchable retirement account, as it may be unexpectedly needed for a myriad of unpredictable variables anytime between now and a few years from now.

Things to note: