Author Topic: Advice for Sudden Life Change/ Financial Blow  (Read 7191 times)

crawfishman

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice for Sudden Life Change/ Financial Blow
« on: December 03, 2015, 08:51:49 AM »
    Hi and thanks for the help in advance.

My wife and I are both young (23 for me 21 for her) and were well on our way to an early retirement. We make a combined 102K a year, I am an engineer she is in sales, max out my 401k, have a monthly budget of only 1600 a month, and are saving like crazy for a large down payment on a house. Our current goal was to wait and have children until we had enough saved for retirement, then she would stay home with the children, and I would continue to work until about 35-40 where I would go part time (30hrs a week). At that time I would be making around 50k a year salary and with our retirement savings we would be golden. I could garden/ run a small farm (chickens and goats), help home school, eat lunch with my family everyday, pretty much enjoy our blessings to the fullest. Well, those plans got a wrench thrown into them the other day.

Just found out my wife is about a month pregnant, we are unbelievably excited but at the same time a little apprehensive/unsure of what the future holds as this obviously changes our plans. So, my question is, how feasible is our plan of me cutting to part time at 40 years old with our income being almost cut in half?

I currently make 59K a year and my company gives 2-4% raises every year based on performance plus a large raise when I pass the PE

My wife will be a stay at home mom, but will continue to babysit/run her side business. So, that is a few thousand a year (untaxed, I know that is probably shady but whatever)

We currently have about 9K in my 401k (I only graduated 7 months ago and paid off all of our debt in the first 3 months)

We have no debt whatsoever

We have our 1 year emergency fund in the bank (should I move that?)

We have about 20K saved up for a down payment on our first home