Author Topic: Advice for paying down debt  (Read 6267 times)

DAY440

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice for paying down debt
« on: June 19, 2014, 11:59:51 AM »
I have a student loan debt for 19,000.00.  Since I am a teacher, I have checked on the loan forgiveness program.  However, I do not qualify because I do not teach at a Title 1 school.  That was very disappointing new, to say the least.  My question is should I liquidate some of my stocks in order to pay down some of the debt?  I would really like to get rid of this huge weight of debt but I don't want to shoot myself in the foot either.  Any advice?

A little background.  Several years ago, my husband had to close our business.  What I didn't know was that he had pretty much used up any cash flow we had available to us.  We sold our house, which we could no longer afford, and are currently renting.  I have taken a second job to help cover the expenses.  We also have credit card debt of around $15,000.00.  Another thing I didn't know about.  My fault for not keeping up with what was going on with our finances.  We have cut down on expenses and are now going to cut out cable.  Should have done that first thing!  We pay around $500/month on a BOA card.  The minimum is around $168.00 but we are trying to pay it off.  We have a discover card with around $10,000 on it and are paying around $300.00/month on it.  I just really want to get rid of at least one of these debts and then I would feel like I we were getting somewhere.  At this point, I just feel like we are barely treading water.  What do you all advise?  Both of our cars are paid off. 

Thank you in advance for your consideration!

homeymomma

• Bristles
Re: Advice for paying down debt
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2014, 12:16:19 PM »
You sound like a good case study candidate. You should definitely consider posting a full case study.