Author Topic: Advice for newly debt-free 30 year olds? (Canadian)  (Read 7264 times)

homemadelatte

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice for newly debt-free 30 year olds? (Canadian)
« on: September 05, 2013, 01:14:38 PM »
We are 30 years old, with two small children and we are freshly debt free (goodbye student loans and LOC debt!). I'm a part time teacher-librarian earning 45,000 a year and my husband works in HVAC earning 75,000 a year. These modest incomes have allowed us to buy a new home in the outskirts of Calgary 5 years ago, at the height of the boom, and our mortgage sits at about 340,000 (which makes me a little sick to think about frankly).

We both set up automatic contributions to retirement plans at our places of work when we started there 6 years ago. I contribute 6% of my net income and that is matched by my employer into a Defined Contribution Pension Plan. I had really no idea what funds to pick when I opened it, so I chose a fairly high-risk mix of canadian equity, us equity and international equity with some cash and fixed income investments as well. It's been losing some money over the past few years, but I have about $27,000 in there. When I am working, I am contributing about $3800 a year into the plan, and then my employer matches it for a total of $7600.

My husband has a Registered Pension plan and Structured RRSP through his work (no matching unfortunately) and contributes about $6000 a year into that. He currently has about $24,000 in his plan with a similar high risk investment mix.

Because of aggressively paying off debt, we have not yet started buying RRSPs (besides the structured one in my husbands work plan) and we are wondering what amount you think we should be buying each year. The max keeps rolling over each year on our tax papers, so we can contribute as much as we would like....though finding the money will be the hard part.