Author Topic: Advice for New Collegiate Mustachian  (Read 4486 times)

hannah2418

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice for New Collegiate Mustachian
« on: September 08, 2014, 02:32:54 PM »
Hi all!

As the subject infers, I am a college student new to the Mustachian community.  I have been reading through posts, but I looking for some more tailored advice.

Here's my situation:

I have approx. 20k in school debt (with more on the way) and about 6k left on my car payment.  I have a spare 5k just hanging out in my bank account, and I want to put it to the best use possible.  I have a part time sort of income, so I will be able to feed myself when it is gone.  I also have enough in the account to live off of for a few months without it.  I am fairly certain that I should put the extra towards whichever debt has the highest interest, but MMM talks so much about investing, too, that I remain somewhat uncertain. 

Thoughts?  Tips?  Advice?

Thanks!

Hannah 

isbjshaffer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Paying down 40k in Student Loans by 9/1/15!
    • Church of Acts
Re: Advice for New Collegiate Mustachian
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 02:40:31 PM »
Welcome to the forums!

What is your current living situation? Are you living with your parents, in a dorm? What do your other expenses look like?

The car is the first scary thing I see - Mainly because I also made the recent mistake of having a car payment. I'm going to end up taking a loss on the car, but will be able to get most of what I put into it back out. It will leave me with enough to buy another decent vehicle (about 6-8k) or have some cash leftover. Could you do the same?