Author Topic: Advice For My Current Situation  (Read 14464 times)

GRSConstruction

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice For My Current Situation
« on: May 29, 2014, 08:54:44 AM »
Hello, let me start out saying I am new here and have been reading a lot on this site over the past 2 days and am really enjoying the reading and ideas. There is a lot of great information on this forum and site. I apologize in advance for the length of my post, but I would really love to get some advice from those of you on here that have the time. I would greatly appreciate it.

I just turned 30, as did my wife. We live in Oklahoma, so the cost of living is pretty cheap. However, we have not made the best decisions leading up to this point with our money and are not in the position financially we wanted to be at this point. Mostly all our own doing of course.

I am a construction manager for a small commercial construction firm. I make $61,560/yr base salary and average about $15,000 - $25,000 in profit sharing/bonuses per year (all before taxes). My company matches up to 3% of my weekly check into a basic IRA account. Currently that is all I've been putting into that account, 3% plus they match that same 3%.

My wife is a preschool teacher and was only working part time, but more recently has been working full time. She only takes home about $600 every two weeks working full time or $400 every two weeks working part time. They offer her no benefits or anything. **Just as a side note, I think it is absolutely absurd that my wife works with and is responsible for children from ages 2-5 and is expected to provide curriculum for these children, etc. for $9.50/hr. It is such an important job that is paid so poorly it is embarrassing in my opinion. She loves working with the kids though, so she sticks with it.**