Author Topic: Advice for a new biker (Help the noob, plzkthx)  (Read 8633 times)

cosmie

• Stubble
Advice for a new biker (Help the noob, plzkthx)
« on: February 24, 2012, 10:24:44 PM »
I'd like to get into biking, but I have a problem: I haven't touched a bike in years, literally about 8-10 years.

A little background:
I'm a full time student, as well as employed almost full time (30 hrs/week) by the university I go to. That same university rents out commuter bicycles for $20/semester (this model, specifically). I rented one this semester to ride around campus, as the campus is spread across 1 nautical mile (2.5 miles if you take into account elevation changes on the ground route), and taking 45 minutes - an hour to walk from one end of campus (where I work) to the exact opposite (where classes are) 3 or 4 times a day became unacceptable. I currently leave this bike locked up in the building I work at, as I can't fit it in my car to bring home; the brakes don't allow enough clearance to take the front tire off unless you completely release the brake cable with a hex tool.

Taking major roads, I live 11 miles from where I go to school/work. Taking a slightly more bike-friendly route, that becomes 13 miles. By next school year, I'd like to be to the point where I can bike this. Right now though, I don't think I could do it, physically (at least not make the commute and last through the day).
I also live 3-4 miles from a public bus route that would take me directly to campus. An unlimited-ride bus pass would cost $50/semester, which has free (and often empty) bus racks. So I could commute with the bike and bus for $70/semester, or $18/month. A vehicle's parking permit alone runs $80/semester, so without even taking into account gas, I'd be breaking even just on parking. Both routes would take about the same time: 45 - 60 min bike ride, or 15 minute bike ride + 35 minute bus ride.