Author Topic: Advice for a 30 Year Old Dissatisfied Engineer?  (Read 2408 times)

cysewr

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice for a 30 Year Old Dissatisfied Engineer?
« on: February 27, 2020, 01:00:16 PM »
Hello All,

I’ve posted a few times before, and have always received very helpful advice from you all, for which I am very grateful. I'm hoping you can help me out once again, this time with career guidance. I am a 30 year-old electrical engineer, and have been working in the power/utility industry since I graduated ~3.5 years ago. Lately, I’ve started to seriously consider making a change (reasons given below), but I am unsure what the scope of that change should be (e.g. changing employer vs. changing industry vs. changing career completely… or just sticking it out for a while and pursuing a side hustle...), and where I should be looking.

Here are the reasons that I am looking at making a change:

• I don't see a career path at my company that appeals to me. I do a decent job from a technical perspective on design projects, but I don't have the interest or aptitude to become a technical expert in the field. I also am learning that I don't have the stomach for the project management side of things. My yearly reviews have been very good, but there isn't a lot of incentive to go above and beyond.

• The pay (currently ~$75k) is mediocre, especially relative to the housing market here. Additionally, it seems to have a fairly low ceiling, even for those who are highly knowledgeable technical experts with a ton of experience. I would like to find a career with more potential for salary growth.