Author Topic: Advice for 18-23 year young men  (Read 5073 times)

Unique User

• Pencil Stache
Advice for 18-23 year young men
« on: December 04, 2018, 04:23:15 PM »
My daughter has a few young men she works with that are 18, 20 and 23.  None did particularly well in high school and have parents that could not afford college, in fact the family of one has struggled with homelessness a couple times in the last year.  The 18 year old is a senior, but graduates this year and is thinking ahead.  DD offered me up to help them explore options that are not the slightly above minimum wage food service they are working now.  I work in healthcare so can talk with them about that and a few other industries I'm knowledgeable about.  I was also going to recommend they talk with a recruiter for the Navy and/or Coast Guard.  I'm not sure yet what they like/don't like except for one that was selling door to door.  He has no fear of being told no, which makes him a natural for sales, but he is only 20 and the other company took advantage of him and changed his pay structure after he started selling.  Any ideas that I can suggest to these young men?  They all want better jobs, just don't know where to go next.  Thanks in advance!!

Cwadda

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Advice for 18-23 year young men
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2018, 11:39:13 PM »
At least in my state, the trades are starving for new laborers. Apprenticeships pay decently well ($15-$20/hr) and after 2 years you're making $100/hr. Also, trade schools in my area are very well supported, it basically allows one to get paid while learning a trade.

Plumbers, electricians, elevator mechanics, and painters can do incredibly well and with no college degree. A relative of mine makes $100k/yr as a painter and 60% of that is under the table. Which is more like making $120k/yr or even higher.

soccerluvof4

• Walrus Stache
  • Retired at 50
    • My Journal
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2018, 05:37:35 AM »