Author Topic: Advice and Evaluation of a New Mustachian  (Read 6208 times)

mrigney

• Stubble
    • Running of the Fools
Advice and Evaluation of a New Mustachian
« on: February 27, 2013, 09:12:52 PM »
Hi! I'm new to the Mustache seen. I've always been somewhat of a personal finance geek (b/c I"m a numbers geek), but don't know if I'd ever heard of the concept of early retirement (other than the allusion to something of the sort in Dave Ramsey's mantra about living like no one today so you can live like nobody else tomorrow (or however that goes). I've been a pretty religious keeper of the budget using You Need a Budget's software (www.youneedabudget.com if anyone is looking for something that has worked better than Mint for me). But, now I want to move forward from just getting by month to month, normally a little bit ahead, to actually demonstrating some badassity and living like a Mustachian. I was hoping that I could lay out my situation and then get some input on my prospects for FI and what you think my next steps should be.

Situation: I'm a scientist/engineer/software developer (in that order) who recently took a year out of the job market to work at a church. As such, the last year hasn't been filled with a bunch of huge paychecks and my wife and I didn't do a whole lot (i.e. any) savings over the last year. I recently took a job as a software developer, but in the transition in essence missed a paycheck.

Basic Life Facts: 28, married, 21 month old daughter, probably a second baby sometime in the next 10-15 months (and that will most likely be the last).

Income: $61k, take home = $3867/month (that is before any contributions to 401k).

Debt: ~$10k in student loans at 2.5%; ~$2.5k in credit card debt (might be closer to ~$1k as I'm waiting on all of my moving reimbursements from my employer to come in and not sure how that will all play out). The CC debt is mainly due to not getting a pyacheck in Feb. as I was transitioning jobs.