Author Topic: Advice about Supplemental Income  (Read 4904 times)

Gimesalot

• Pencil Stache
Advice about Supplemental Income
« on: March 06, 2014, 10:29:10 PM »
I am new to MMM.  I was getting into the reduction of lifestyle and increased savings aspect, and then BAM!  I got fired from my 6 figure income job about 2 weeks ago.

I have job hunting by looking for postings and contacting recruiters.  Alas, I am still out of work.  It has only been two weeks, but I am itching to start earning some cash!

So here are my ideas:
- Handylady Work: DH and I are buying a house that needs work.  I thought I could use my time to learn how to make the electrical, plumbing, and other necessary repairs.  Turns out, in my city, you are not allowed to do most work yourself.  You have to hire a contractor to get the permit.

- E-book:  I started writing.  I am about 10% through a short story.  Then I realized that self publishing is difficult.  I thought I could just type it up, make it nice, and done.  It turns out that I have to pick a platform, get an ISBN, etc.

- Leapforce: $13.50 an hour, work from home.  Then I read some terrible reviews.  Inconsistent work, strange business practices, etc.

- Cellphone Screen Repair: Everyone and their mom has an iphone with a broken screen.  I watched the videos, sourced the parts, and I am ready to go.  Then I realized that I should not be operating a business without a city license, tax license, etc.

- Bike Repair: Find broken bikes, fix and sell.  Plan B the spot for learning how to fix bikes just, I mean days ago, closed.  No one to learn from, no place to work on bikes.

- Blogging:  Hey, I am not doing anything else.  MMM even wrote an idiot-proof guide, but it sounded like I would need some cash for this option.

- Treehouse / Lynda:  Learn new skills?  Why not.  I am just worried about investing the money and then not having time to recoup the investment if I get a job.