Author Topic: Advice!  (Read 6602 times)

newb999

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice!
« on: February 25, 2015, 09:10:53 AM »
Hi all, I'm brand new to both saving and the site. I'd appreciate advice as I'm getting myself together financially after a series of (years-long) unfortunate decisions.

Info:

Salary: $60,000CAD
Salary 2: ~$8,000CAD cash (bartending)
Debt: $6,600 @ 15% interest (LONG story, basically it's consolidated consumer debt after being denied a loan and supporting myself doing unpaid internships in the States on credit cards)
Savings: $1,300
Rent: $500/month
Insurance: $150/month
Monthly gas: ~$350 (I commute quite far, but will be moving in May, which unfortunately means an increase in rent)

I pay $200/week to my debt. My question is - what do I do now? What is my best option? I recently checked and my credit rating is "very good", but I'm scared to apply for another loan at a lower rate in case it impacts my credit negatively. Please be brutally honest I know I'm a beginner here with much to learn.

My job also matches RRSP's at max 4% of salary after a year of employment - I've been there 6 months. Do I open one now or concentrate on debt? I'm not living paycheck to paycheck, and I'm trying to save I just don't know what the smartest decision for me is right now. I bow down to your Mustachian wisdom.

James

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Advice!
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2015, 09:15:58 AM »
Start here...

Most concerns about credit rating are overblown, the key is what you want to accomplish, so if financially a loan is best to replace your other loan and get rid of the 15% interest, that is what you need to do. But given your income you can likely get rid of it really fast without a new loan by just not spending on anything else other than absolute necessities until then.

Start contributing to get the match at work.

Congrats at posting here and being willing to change things for your future self!

Retire-Canada

• Walrus Stache