Author Topic: Accountants/CPA's- How feasible to work tax busy season only?  (Read 12121 times)

dkaid

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I love the idea of working seasonally and would love to explore the feasibility of being able to do this in a few years.  I'm a CPA, but unregistered status and currently working in Corporate Finance.  I like the idea of working busy season only for Tax season, or possibly Audit if the demand exists.  I left the Big 4 as an Audit Manager some 15 years ago, so I'm very rusty.  And I have very little tax experience. 

If I wanted to pursue this what do you think the best route would be?  Clearly I need to update my skills but I'd want to be fairly confident that I would find a decent gig before I jump in. What is a reasonable expectation of what I could make?  In looking at the H&R block route, it didn't seem like great pay.   I have pretty cushy gig right now but of course I have to be here all year:) 

Proud Foot

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Accountants/CPA's- How feasible to work tax busy season only?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 09:23:16 AM »
The first thing would be to get some tax experience.  I would stay away from HR Block but would look at seeing if you could work part time for a CPA tax preparer to get the experience.  Once you have the experience the financially easier route would be to have the CPA tax preparer hire you as a seasonal worker.  The other would be to open up your own tax prep shop.  If you get enough clients you will be super busy until April 15 and will make enough for the full year.  To keep your clients you might also consider being available for tax planning during the fall on an appointment basis.

I don't do this myself as I don't enjoy the tax process enough to do it for others but I know several tax preparers who do this and are successful.

Trudie

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2016, 12:56:03 PM »