Author Topic: Accountants, actuaries and human resource managers, I need your help!  (Read 7574 times)

LizzyBee

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I have been struggling with disliking my career since I started it. I was an elementary teacher and now I coach and train teachers. When I think about my dream job and what I genuinely love doing, it's teaching adults (that's a tiny portion of my current job), organizing, budgeting, and number-crunching. I've thought about going into human resources since that could be semi-related to what I currently do giving feedback to and training adults. I've been joking for years that I wish I would have gone to school for accounting. I've also thought being an actuary would be interesting.  But how would I know, I literally know no one in those fields, and because I got a degree in liberal arts (sociology and then teaching and then a masters in education) I have no idea if I even like that much math or am even good at it. In high school, I excelled and enjoyed math, but I didn't take a lot of advanced math classes.

Are you an actuary, an accountant or do you work in human resources? If so, what is your typical day like? What do you love and hate about your job? Are there avenues into your field that would not require me to go back to school full-time? If I were to take a math class what classes would be most applicable to accounting or being an actuary?

Is changing careers worth a possible pay cut and/or going back to school especially if I'm not sure what I want to do? What are some steps I could take to make sure that my new career is one I will love? 

Fuyu

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Accountants, actuaries and human resource managers, I need your help!
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2013, 05:01:10 PM »