Author Topic: Accessories for iPad  (Read 8028 times)

hybrid

• Handlebar Stache
  • A hybrid of MMM and thoughtful consumer.
Accessories for iPad
« on: May 19, 2014, 10:18:03 AM »
I finally broke down and bought an iPad Air over the weekend. I work in IT and am amazed I held out this long, but I have reached the point where I need to know more about these tablets than my clients (both for work and the side gig), and that was what finally pushed me over the top. I opted for the 32GB, Wi-Fi only model.

Knowing full well that accessories are available online and much cheaper than what the local Best Buy was touting, I figured I'd ask the MMM community where they got the best deals for their accessories. Specifically I need a good cover for the iPad out of the gate. I am also looking for an inexpensive 30-pin to HDMI adapter for my wife's iPad 3 so we can stream apps like CBS to the iPad and port that to our TV. The lightning connector to HDMI from Apple for the iPad Air is $50, and I haven't seen a good knockoff for that one yet, and I am not willing to plunk that kind of change down yet for an adapter. Thanks in advance for the tips.

Rural

• Walrus Stache
Re: Accessories for iPad
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 11:58:45 AM »
Check Dollar Tree for screen protector film. I have mine in a plastic clamshell from there, too, and a simple foam padded sleeve. I did have to prowl a couple of stores to find everything, so patience will help. But it means I have screen protector, clamshell, and sleeve for $3 plus tax. They don't look fancy, but they do work.

For the adaptor, I don't know of a good cheap option.

HairyUpperLip

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2014, 12:07:36 PM »
I've never used it personally, but good reviews from friends....
sw-box.com for accessories.

I would recommend a case for sure though. Mine is cracked. :(

hybrid

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2014, 02:21:36 PM »