Author Topic: ACA - Help! I'm changing jobs!  (Read 6156 times)

cf79560

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
ACA - Help! I'm changing jobs!
« on: April 06, 2015, 05:00:59 PM »
Okay mustachians- I need help!
Someone here has probably gone through this and could offer some help/advice.

I am a professor and will be changing jobs over the summer. This leaves me 4 months (end of current contract until I'm eligible for the new insurance) without a insurance plan.

Are there any options other than short-term insurance for me? Short term plans supposedly do not meet the individual mandate for minimum coverage as far as I can find. So am I stuck paying for mine and a dependent's coverage those four months and the prorated penalty for not carrying a approved plan?

The new requirements for the ACA have me confused. Can anyone think of any way to lower our cost over the summer and avoid paying the penalty required by the individual mandate? This seems a bit whacky..I could get fired and be eligible for enrollment but for those of us trying to better ourselves it seems like a kick in the ass.

Thanks in advance

velocistar237

• Handlebar Stache

geekette

• Magnum Stache
Re: ACA - Help! I'm changing jobs!
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2015, 05:57:36 PM »
In short, once you lose your employer based coverage, you're eligible to enroll in a Marketplace ACA plan, or you can probably get COBRA coverage through your old job.

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2015, 06:03:45 PM »
 Losing a job (either leaving it voluntarily or getting laid off/fired) counts as a special enrollment period. I just went through this myself after quitting.

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2015, 06:05:11 PM »
As long as you have adequate coverage (defined by the ACA), there is no penalty.  You can get adequate coverage via the exchange or by COBRAing your current insurance.  Compare the two and see which you prefer.

Paul der Krake

• Walrus Stache