Author Topic: Absolutely No Motivation at Work and Not Sure How to Turn it Around  (Read 9097 times)

ReadySetMillionaire

• Handlebar Stache
I don't know what's gotten into me lately, but I just can't seem to get anything done at work over the last two weeks. And when I say haven't been getting "anything" done, I mean it. I'm an attorney and thus have to bill my hours, and I've maybe billed 5-6 hours total in the last seven working days (for an average about less than 1 hour billed per day). This is obviously going to catch up to me and I'm terrified to submit my May billings.

I'm not really sure why this is happening, but my guess is that a month or so ago, I emotionally readied myself to switch jobs. I'm in a small and undesirable market doing rather mundane legal work. It's simply not what I expected it to be and has been draining on me lately. Thus, I want to go to a bigger firm with more complex work.

Since making that decision, however, I find myself doing all sorts of things other than work while I'm at the office--checking my student loan balances, bank accounts, investments, etc.; checking forums like this one and others; reading articles on job career websites; looking at houses in suburbs of desirable cities; on and on, it never stops. I literally can't go 15 minutes working consecutively without checking something unrelated to work.

I think I know what I'm going to hear in your responses--you're not going to be able to lateral somewhere else unless and until you do a great job at your current job. But I'm starting this thread and hoping to get some advice from people who have been in similar ruts, how they approached the problem, and things they did to get back on their feet.