Author Topic: About to be voluntarily, temporarily unemployed. Advice?  (Read 4059 times)

sylph

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
About to be voluntarily, temporarily unemployed. Advice?
« on: November 15, 2015, 10:36:21 PM »
I wrote my de-employment plan today.

I'm not quite ready to retire (couple more years of fund growth should get me there), but my current work environment has been toxic for over a year, and gets worse by the day. I know it may set my retirement back a year or two, but I'm financially independent enough to be able to tell my job to **** off. Politely.

I've been applying pretty aggressively for the last two months, and have been calling on my well-placed friends for advice and good words. My de-employment plan includes identifying my network of professional mentors, getting some expensive things checked up (car, bike, body) while health insurance and paychecks are still a thing, and setting daily and weekly goals for after the de-employment to keep myself motivated and moving forward. I've started looking into the state health exchange, but am not quite sure I can start that process while still employed.

Any of you out there in Stashland have advice on things to prepare for while becoming voluntarily de-employed? Again, my goal is for this to be temporary, but after struggling for a year waiting for the work situation to improve or stop worsening, I've decided it's not worth the mental and physical toll to keep working at this while searching for something else. What should I prepare for?

mxt0133

• Handlebar Stache
Re: About to be voluntarily, temporarily unemployed. Advice?
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2015, 10:51:52 PM »
My only recommendation is to put a hard date on your last day.  By having that date in your mind, work will become less stressful.  The pain is more tolerable when you know it is going to stop vs the anxiety of not knowing when or if will even stop.