Author Topic: A case for driving  (Read 3108 times)

salmp01

• Stubble
A case for driving
« on: August 22, 2012, 07:14:57 AM »
Let me start off by saying I’m a big proponent of not driving and I’m a huge fan of the forum!  That said I’d like to explore a topic that is a bit un-mustachian.

I have a corporate job, I’m also a real estate agent and I own and manage several rental properties.  As a result of this, I need to drive and I need to drive quite a bit.   I ran some numbers and if I’m calculating this correctly I may be actually making money by driving.  I understand that I’m not including the environmental impact of releasing carbon in to the atmosphere so I’d like to avoid any discussion on this (I know this is a big deal).

Below are my assumptions:

Fed bracket = 28%
State (MN) = 7.85%
Medicare = 2.9%
Social Sec = 0 (for now I max this out with my corporate job)
Total Tax = 38.75%

Miles Driven in 2011 (for real estate activities) = 22000
Reimbursement rate = .555
Total write off = 12,210  which means I’m essentially getting $12,210 * 38.75% = $4,731

I have a 2009 Toyota Matrix that I bought 1.5 years ago for 10k (it had a salvaged title but it’s a great car).
Mile per gallon = 32
Cost per gallon = $3.50
Total Cost for gas = 22000/32 * $3.50 = $2406

So far I’m gaining 4731-2406 = $2325/year
This is where I’m having trouble determining the additional costs.  I looked up the value of a 2003 Toyota Matrix (this is the oldest model) and one with 100k was worth $5263 and the same car with 250k was worth $3213.   I plan to drive this car for about 8 years and will probably have well over 200k on it.  So am I safe to assume that if put on an additional 100k – 150k miles that this will only decrease the value of the car by 2k?  If this is correct I would add on an additional $256/year.