Author Topic: Vanguard funds and general advice  (Read 9647 times)

rockstache

• Walrus Stache
Vanguard funds and general advice
« on: March 13, 2013, 09:25:56 AM »
Hi everyone,

I am new to the stache community and beginning to dip my toes in the waters of the mustachian lifestyle. I came across the MMM website about a month ago, and quickly read every post, and many of the links/suggestions to other posts as well. I was amazed by how much wonderful information and advice there is here, and I was hoping that maybe someone could straighten out a few questions I have.

As a quick bit of background, I work full time and just completed school. My husband works part time and goes to school full time. We have a fairly low income for our area, but no debt. I currently contribute 12% to my company's 401K plan (which has a 3% match) and my husband contributes a very small amount ($50/month) to an AmeriFunds account which he had before we got married. I am looking to significantly ramp up our savings (especially hoping that hubby will get a full time job soon after graduation) and I love all of the info that I have read about Vanguard, so I will probably go that way. My questions are as follows:

1. I have heard it said that the best savings strategy for retirement is (in this order): contribute enough to company 401K to get the match, then fully fund an IRA, then if you can still save beyond that, max out your 401K, and finally once that is done, invest elsewhere. This doesn't strike me as a very mustachian philosophy, seeing as that is a lot of money towards the after 65 retirement, and not very much towards any early retirement. For someone with limited funds and only one income, what is the recommended strategy? Does anyone have any other ideas?