Author Topic: 5 Years Pre-FIRE: How did you network in new geographic location?  (Read 2424 times)

Trudie

• Handlebar Stache
My DH and I are about 5 years from FIRE, and are almost certain that we plan to retire in a university town about three hours away.  It is close to my husband's hometown and within a 45-minute drive from all of our siblings and parents.  We get there often (to see family).  We're not prematurely buying property.  Although we've ID'd a realtor and have had discussions, we're keeping our money working for us for the time being.  But this is not a financial question, but more of a social and networking question.

Without completely gutting our lives in our current location I would like to start to do some "networking" in our future location.  Part of it is reconnaissance to figure out what causes we want to be involved with, but a big part of it is just starting to feel more comfortable so that we can connect socially more quickly once we arrive.  Since I am a CPA (and possibly wanting to continue with part-time work during the tax season), I would also like to get a better sense of the landscape and make some connections.

What advice do other Mustachians have for making this kind of transition based on your own experiences?

fdubz

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: 5 Years Pre-FIRE: How did you network in new geographic location?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2015, 10:48:55 AM »
Trudie, I think this forum would be a great place to start looking for all of those things if you wanted to let us know where you're going.  I live in a university town and they certainly are a popular post-FIRE destination for mustachians!  Chances are some of us live/went to college/have researched where you are planning to go.

Trudie

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2015, 11:01:13 AM »