Author Topic: 403b question  (Read 3985 times)

azu612

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
403b question
« on: December 10, 2016, 08:09:34 PM »
I am a teacher and I am contributing to the 403b account offered by my district.  They say that you have to contribute to one of the accounts that they sponsor.  I am with AXA.  The district offers a 600 dollar match each year.  I only contribute enough to get the match.  I've heard a lot about these being the worst accounts out there.  However, I figured it was worth at least getting the match.

Does anyone have any advice on what I could do with this account to maximize the money?

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: 403b question
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2016, 08:52:29 PM »
Does anyone have any advice on what I could do with this account to maximize the money?
Put more into it.

You should look at all the fund options available.

See also To 401k or not to 401k? That is the question. That situation is similar to yours.

Sean Og

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2016, 08:56:23 PM »
Usually there are a number of different options within a 403b, what are your alternatives to AXA?

Aspire is who my wife is with and offer access to vanguard. Security Benefit also have a good option with the NEA DirectInvest plan.

azu612

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2016, 07:16:12 PM »
This is the list of possible providers aside from AXA:  GALIC, Lincoln Investment, Met Life, NY Life, Security Benefit Life, and Valic.

I've heard there are fees if you transfer.  I'm not really sure what the best course of action is, or if I should tell the broker to put all of the money in index funds, etc....

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2016, 07:29:09 PM »
Check out Met Life's fees and funds.  Sometimes they are ok, and other times they are awful.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2016, 07:33:17 PM »