Author Topic: 401K vs. Index Investing for Early Retirement  (Read 6634 times)

FreedomInc

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
401K vs. Index Investing for Early Retirement
« on: December 02, 2014, 07:59:03 PM »
Hello everyone!

I'm currently a college student and am planning out what my first year of work life will be like. My goal is to "retire" 10 years from the day that I begin working. I will be entering a relatively lucrative field and believe this to be possible.

With this in mind, does it still make sense to use the 401K that companies provide? I know there are large penalties on taking your money out of these before age 59.5. Since I will be ~33 when I want to begin pulling funds from my investments (~4% per year), I am wondering if I will be better off just index investing on my own.

However, if my employer matches my contributions, I will probably want to take advantage of this even though I won't be able to access it until I'm much older (free money).

Am I correct in this line of thinking?

College Stash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: 401K vs. Index Investing for Early Retirement
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2014, 08:23:14 PM »
I'd say to use the 401k. Taxes can be pretty rough for a young, high earning, single. You could always withdraw heavier on the brokerage accounts until you needed the 401k and/or you could get into rental investments too.

You sound pretty similar to myself, although I'm a sophomore in college and plan to ER at some point to become a professor/hs teacher.

Best of luck!

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2014, 08:49:26 PM »
My goal is to "retire" 10 years from the day that I begin working. I will be entering a relatively lucrative field and believe this to be possible.