Author Topic: 401k versus paying my way through Grad School  (Read 1195 times)

rlnine

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
401k versus paying my way through Grad School
« on: February 06, 2019, 05:22:25 AM »
Hello all!

Some time ago, in the financial wasteland of my twenties, I made the decision to become an advanced practice nurse, something I had been interested in since I was quite young, though nursing itself didn't have a lot of appeal, as I didn't think I really had the (practical, methodical) temperament for floor nursing.

I graduated nursing school in December 2017, a newly divorced single mom with over $90,000 in debt. The divorce is relevant to the debt, though I'm fine taking responsibility for both. Stupid decisions all around. I got a job as a nurse in February 2018 and have been making good money and paying things down, though until recently I've also been spending way too much. This year will be much better financially, with the spending side under control.

Unfortunately, while I'm not as terrible of a nurse as I had feared, the constant rule-following (of more rules that can actually be followed, but you're on the hook if you don't follow them), charting, high-conflict coworker environment, etc. *is* proving very difficult, as is the night shift. I'm a bit of a wreck emotionally and have basically stopped sleeping. I imagine this will get a little bit better with the return of light to the PNW in the coming months, but I don't have too much more of this in me.