Author Topic: 401K Savings to Pay Off My Student Loan? Need Suggestions  (Read 4109 times)

E in DC

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • My MMM Journal
401K Savings to Pay Off My Student Loan? Need Suggestions
« on: March 15, 2016, 12:09:03 PM »
Hello Everyone-

I made the decision to finally kill off the $50K balance of my student loan that I've been dragging around for about 15 years now.  I've really gone all-in by forgoing my 401K contributions until I'm done (I don't get a match), and throwing about $10K in cash at it out of the gate.  I'm at about $35K now, and I figure I'll have the whole thing paid off in about a year-and-a-half. 

My questions is whether it would make sense on any level to withdraw the $35K from my 401K balance (currently about $60K) to pay the student loan off and shift gears into full-on investment mode sooner?  I know I'll take a tax hit by doing it, and that may be reason enough to stick with my current strategy, but I'm not sure what other drawbacks there may be.  On the flip-side, I really would like to be debt free this week instead of sometime next year. 

Thanks in advance for any insights!

-E in DC

therethere

• Handlebar Stache
Re: 401K Savings to Pay Off My Student Loan? Need Suggestions
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2016, 12:14:48 PM »
No. Just no. Don't do it. You are losing 10% penalty AND taxes on the withdrawl. Assuming you're in the 15% bracket + 6% for DC tax + 10% for penalty. You "need" 35k to payoff the loans but it would cause you to withdraw 46k.

Do you really want to have only 14k in retirement savings at what, 35 years old?

Jack

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2016, 12:15:45 PM »
No, that does not make sense. It also does not make sense to forego the 401k contribution just to pay down the loans either (but I'm sure some risk-averse person will come along shortly to dispute that).