Author Topic: 30 Years Old and Need Some Financial Advice  (Read 8737 times)

DoogRPV

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
30 Years Old and Need Some Financial Advice
« on: November 09, 2013, 12:11:27 PM »
Just turned 30, single and living in a very expensive city, Los Angeles. I have no plans of moving anytime soon given my friends and family are here. So here is a run down:

• I own a loft in Downtown LA; bought it for $365k owe $280k and can sell it for $500k+. I bought at a very good time in 2010, the market has skyrocketed in Downtown LA over the last 3 years.
  • I have about $140k in savings and checking accounts.
  • I have about $130k in my 401k; I have been contributing the max for the last 3 years or so.
  • I work as a Director (recently promoted in the last month) in a Big 4 firms technology/IT consulting practice; this year I'll earn about $175k (from W2) and expect to increase my earning power greatly as a I become more experienced in my new position.
  • I'm very inexperienced when it comes to stocks, bonds, trading, the markets, etc

I've been putting away a lot of cash primarily with the goal to purchase another home or condo. I would keep my current loft and rent it (not sure if I would make any money off this but it should be able to pay for itself at a minimum).  Given LA prices are ridiculous and in my opinion heavily inflated, I may hold on the idea of purchasing for now, though I have the money. My other thought was to invest in some Vanguard mutual funds but once again I almost feel the market is over-inflated and its probably not the best time to buy while prices are really high. As mentioned I'm very inexperienced on the markets but I just have a gut feeling things are not right and its not a good time to dump big chunks of money into it (I could be completely wrong).