Author Topic: 27 yrs old, no debt, $60,000 saved/invested, NO CLUE!  (Read 6352 times)

Kyle M

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
27 yrs old, no debt, $60,000 saved/invested, NO CLUE!
« on: September 05, 2012, 08:55:28 AM »
Hello Mustachians,

I am a novice here who has no idea what to do with our money. This blog has been very informative, but I am hoping to get a little more advice tailored to our personal situation if you all would be so kind! Here is our situation:

Married. Wife earning gross $52,000/yr. I am currently in between jobs, but will in all likelihood be making around $60,000 gross next year (conservative estimate).

Goals:
-- Down payment on a house within the next 5 years, (currently renting)
-- Start having kids next year (wife's income will likely drop to $20,000 per year after child)

Current financial situation:
-- no debt
-- very frugal living expenses (after starting to read MMM!)
-- $20,000 in cash recently moved money market fund (Vanguard) because I have no clue what to do with it.
-- $20,000 invested with Wells Fargo in mutual funds (inheritance)
-- $20,000 in Roth IRA (we add $5,000 each year)
-- No 401K, I have been self employed, but will start one with my next job and max it out

I want to maximize the amount we are compounding, but also have funds available to buy a house within the next 5 years. We plan to move within the next 5 years and won't buy a house until we move.

Where should I keep the money I need in the next 5 years? Should I put it in a Vanguard Index fund or is that too volatile? I have a high risk tolerance.

I am guessing we will need about 30-40k for house down payment, so should we consolidate our Wells Fargo and Vanguard?

Any input would be incredibly appreciated!!! This blog is changing my life

J

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: 27 yrs old, no debt, $60,000 saved/invested, NO CLUE!
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2012, 10:10:55 AM »